Goo goo g’joob to Show in Brownsville, Texas!

Walrus
I am the walrus, goo goo g’joob.

Goo goo g’joob has been selected for the Brownsville Museum of Fine Art 45th International Art Show in Brownsville Texas from 3/22/17 – 4/5/17. Jurors for this show include Cesar Martinez from San Antonio, Texas, Angel Cabrales, El Paso, Texas, and Annie Moye from Atlanta, Georgia. 

“Goo goo g’joob ” is the name of this mixed media bone sculpture,  When I decided to make a walrus, I had in mind a face with puffed out cheeks and tusks on top of  a bone body angled as if laying on a rock basking in the sun.  What is particularly unique about this piece is that when I made the face,  I needed to puff out the cheeks in order to create a space for the tusks. I had to bend the metal from the back in a process called Repoussé. It called for some intricate engineering done under deep magnification. After inserting the tusks, I hand milled from a petrified mammoth tusk, the face seemed to come together naturally. I was quite pleased with all I taught myself in the process of making the sculpture. The walrus is the most whimsical of the series,  so I named him after the Beatle’s song,”Goo goo g’joob ” .

 

 

Leave a Reply

