Prince of Tides

1st of "Prince of Tides" series
1st of “Prince of Tides” series

As a young child, I loved to draw. One day I showed a picture to my mother, and she took away all my pencils and crayons. Later I learned I had been a victim of abuse by a family member, and the drawing was likely an expression of what had been happening to me. I was too ashamed to express myself artistically in any fashion for a long time after that, so I never pursued art in school.

I have since learned to embrace my gift and trust my intuition. What I once thought to be an imperfection in myself, I now recognize as a family problem and not a reflection of who I am. In coping with childhood trauma, I have been blessed with the gift of disassociation – a retreat from the present into an inner world. It’s kind of like a time travel. From here I am able to create objects that manifest from both my pain and my gift. Now I am actually grateful for my childhood because it’s taken me to this amazing place in my life where I feel I do have a voice. I named the copper faced bone sculptures my “Prince of Tides Series” and I hope to offer some inspiration to others who may have faced similar trauma.

Leave a Reply

