Chalice

Chalice
Dark Sunday

The Chalice is one of a series of raised vessels in which I experimented with the process of raising a flat copper sheet into a formed metal cup. The glowing silver cross and dangling rosary likely depicts early memories of Sunday mass at St. Patrick’s and a childhood of mysterious rituals I did not fully understand. The image evokes a somber stillness. I recall a collective body of formally dressed strangers towering over my head, hopeful seekers of redemption. Amidst the waft of frankincense and myrhh, I was hushed to silence, and so I focused on this mysterious cup: The Chalice.

 

Leave a Reply

